2016 College Football Bowl Predictions

Last year I used a very simple model to predict the outcomes of every college football bowl game. The model went 29-12 and finished in the 99th percentile of ESPN’s straight up poll and the 94th percentile in the confidence poll. I utilized the same model again this year and posted my predictions in the table below.

UPDATE: The bowl season has concluded and the model finished up with a record of 24-18. This was good enough to place in the top 81% on ESPN Bowl Mania Straight Up Poll. Though a strong result it was a drop off from the performance of the last two seasons.

Date/Time Away Home Winner
Sat Dec 17 12:00 PM North Carolina Central Grambling Grambling
Sat Dec 17 12:00 PM New Mexico Texas San Antonio New Mexico
Sat Dec 17 2:00 PM Houston San Diego Houston
Sat Dec 17 3:30 PM Appalachian State Toledo Appalachian State
Sat Dec 17 5:30 PM Central Florida Arkansas State Central Florida
Sat Dec 17 9:00 PM Southern Mississippi Louisiana Lafayette Southern Mississippi
Mon Dec 19 2:30 PM Central Michigan Tulsa Tulsa
Tue Dec 20 7:00 PM Memphis Western Kentucky Western Kentucky
Wed Dec 21 9:00 PM Brigham Young Wyoming Brigham Young
Thu Dec 22 7:00 PM Idaho Colorado State Colorado State
Fri Dec 23 1:00 PM Eastern Michigan Old Dominion Old Dominion
Fri Dec 23 1:00 PM Louisiana Tech Navy Navy
Fri Dec 23 8:00 PM Ohio Troy Troy
Sat Dec 24 8:00 PM Hawaii Middle Tennessee Middle Tennessee
Mon Dec 26 11:00 AM Miami OH Mississippi State Mississippi State
Mon Dec 26 2:30 PM Maryland Boston College Maryland
Mon Dec 26 5:00 PM North Carolina State Vanderbilt North Carolina State
Tue Dec 27 5:00 PM Army North Texas Army
Tue Dec 27 3:30 PM Temple Wake Forest Temple
Tue Dec 27 7:00 PM Minnesota Washington State Washington State
Tue Dec 27 10:15 PM Boise State Baylor Boise State
Wed Dec 28 2:00 PM Pittsburgh Northwestern Pittsburgh
Wed Dec 28 5:30 PM West Virginia Miami FL Miami FL
Wed Dec 28 8:30 PM Indiana Utah Utah
Wed Dec 28 9:00 PM Texas A&M Kansas State Texas A&M
Thu Dec 29 2:00 PM South Florida South Carolina South Florida
Thu Dec 29 5:30 PM Arkansas Virginia Tech Virginia Tech
Thu Dec 29 9:00 PM Oklahoma State Colorado Colorado
Fri Dec 30 12:00 PM Georgia Texas Christian Georgia
Fri Dec 30 2:00 PM Stanford North Carolina Stanford
Fri Dec 30 3:30 PM Nebraska Tennessee Nebraska
Fri Dec 30 5:30 PM South Alabama Air Force Air Force
Fri Dec 30 8:00 PM Michigan Florida State Michigan
Sat Dec 31 11:00 AM Louisiana State Louisville Louisiana State
Sat Dec 31 11:00 AM Georgia Tech Kentucky Georgia Tech
Sat Dec 31 3:00 PM Washington Alabama Alabama
Sat Dec 31 7:00 PM Ohio State Clemson Ohio State
Mon Jan 2 1:00 PM Western Michigan Wisconsin Wisconsin
Mon Jan 2 1:00 PM Florida Iowa Iowa
Mon Jan 2 5:00 PM Southern California Pennsylvania State Pennsylvania State
Mon Jan 2 8:30 PM Auburn Oklahoma Oklahoma
Mon Jan 9 8:00 PM Ohio State Alabama Alabama